Bellingham, WA Professional Review and Guide
"In 1904 a handful of communities scattered along the shores of Bellingham Bay were consolidated into one city and named after the bay. The city has grown and absorbed the individuality of the earlier towns and tied them together in an occasionally troublesome tangle of thoroughfares. One of the early townsites, Fairhaven, remains a relatively distinct district within the city. Its charming collection of old brick buildings and attractive Victorian houses will continue to attract visitors, so long as Fairhaven can resist the ravages of progress. This is where the first white settlers came ashore in the mid-1800s and where Henry Roeder built a sawmill in 1853.
A number of historical buildings still stand here, including the magnificent New Whatcom City Hall, which is now the Whatcom Museum of History and Art. Several interesting galleries, antiques shops, and restaurants add to the enjoyment of an Old Town tour. The Eldridge district’s residential area is characterized by some fine old houses built in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In the Sehome district, near the Western Washington University campus, are more vintage houses and other buildings. “Walking Tour” guides and maps of all these areas are available at the convention and visitors bureau."