Oklahoma is a state with a very relaxed attitude towards its fishing, with most of the regulations being aimed at catch limits rather than methods. The result is that methods that are tightly regulated or banned in many states, such as fishing with lights at night, are perfectly legal there. There are ways to night fish in Oklahoma and not break any laws while doing so.
Night Fishing Regulations
There is no specific regulation in the state of Oklahoma banning the practice of fishing at night with the aid of lights. Therefore, so long as you are not in violation of some other regulation, you are in compliance with the law. For example, the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation prohibits the use of containers or traps that "attract, entice or lure fish into an open cavity" inside it. That would automatically rule out using lights as the lure on a fishing trap because the trap itself is illegal.
Fishing with Lights
Night fishing with lights in Oklahoma is a well-established past-time, with some fishing spots coming equipped with platforms that are air conditioned in summer and heated in the winter. Many fishermen also bring along their own lights, which are either mounted on shore, on piers and docks or on a boat. There is some debate over what color of light is best for attracting fish, but the general idea for night fishing is that your lights are attracting bait fish. The busy bait fish, in turn, attract the catfish and trout that you are angling for. Another general rule is to concentrate your lights onto one spot if the water is deeper than 10 feet, to improve its penetration into the depths.
Oklahoma Fishing Licenses
The most basic requirement for night fishing public waters in Oklahoma is having a state fishing license. The following people are exempted, however: residents under 16 and non-residents under 14, resident disabled veterans, those over the age of 64 and Oklahomans who are in Oklahoma but posted for duty in another state. Also, those fishing waters on their own property or on private property with the owner's permission do not need a license. In 2009, the fees for a one-year fishing license were $20 for residents and $37 for non-residents. All licenses expired on December 31st, regardless of date of issue. There were additional stamps necessary for particular kinds of fishing, such as trout.
Article Written By Edwin Thomas
Edwin Thomas has been writing since 1997. His work has appeared in various online publications, including The Black Table, Proboxing-Fans and others. A travel blogger, editor and writer, Thomas has traveled from Argentina to Vietnam in pursuit of stories. He holds a Master of Arts in international affairs from American University.