Alaska Fishing License Regulations

Alaska Fishing License Regulations
The wonderful fishing opportunities in Alaska beckon anglers to the state in search of species such as salmon. The Alaska Department of Fish and Game's officers ensure that anglers meet the licensing regulations set down in state statutes.

Resident Definition

The regulations of Alaska identify what entails a resident of the state when it comes time to purchase a fishing license. Regulations classify a person who lived in Alaska for at least 12 straight months before going to apply for a fishing license as a resident. The individual cannot make a claim of living elsewhere. The state will characterize members of the United States Coast Guard or military stationed in Alaska the prior 12 months before applying for a license as a resident also.

Age Groups

If you are less than 16 years of age, whether you are a resident of Alaska or classified as a non-resident, you can fish without a fishing license. Any resident of Alaska 60 years of age or older does not need a fishing license. However, these people must have what the state labels a Personal Identification Card (PID), which amounts to a free lifetime license.

Possession and Validity

An angler must have his fishing license or PID in his possession while in the act of fishing or digging clams. Regulations state that the fishing license will remain valid for one calendar year after its issuance.

Keep Me Informed

Weekly newsletters, announcements and offers from to your inbox.

Sign me up!

We HATE spam and promise to keep your email addresses safe and secure.