Florida Laws for Bass Fishing

Florida Laws for Bass Fishing
Florida is home to many species of bass, including black bass (largemouth, shoal, spotted and Suwannee), striped bass, white bass, sunshine bass, and butterfly peacock bass. The Florida largemouth bass is a popular target for anglers.


A freshwater fishing license is typically required to fish for bass in Florida. As of July 2009, the annual fee is $17 for residents and $47 for nonresidents.


Methods of Taking Bass

Bass can be fished using a rod and reel, or pole and line. Prohibited devices include electricity, spear gun, poison, free-floating devices and firearms. Bass cannot be taken by diving or underwater swimming.

Black Bass Statewide Bag, Length and Possession Limits

The statewide black bass limit is five, and only one of which can be 22 inches or longer in length.

Striped Bass, White Bass and Sunshine Bass Statewide Bag and Length Limits

The statewide limit on striped bass, white bass and sunshine bass is six total of all three types, and only one of which can be 24 inches or longer.

Butterfly Peacock Bass Statewide Bag and Length Limits

The statewide bag limit for butterfly peacock bass is two, and only one of which can be 17 inches or longer. The possession limit is two days' bag limit.

Local Bass Regulations

Local Fish Management Areas in Florida can have modifications to the size and bag limits for bass. These regulations apply to specific areas and lakes, and vary depending on the health of the bass populations. An extensive list is published by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission.


Article Written By David Chandler

David Chandler has been a freelance writer since 2006 whose work has appeared in various print and online publications. A former reconnaissance Marine, he is an active hiker, diver, kayaker, sailor and angler. He has traveled extensively and holds a bachelor's degree from the University of South Florida where he was educated in international studies and microbiology.

The Latest from the Trails.com Community