Information on the Quetzal Bird

Information on the Quetzal Bird
The colorful Quetzal bird is one of those avian creatures that must be seen in its natural habitat, as it rarely survives in captivity. Birdwatchers looking to add this famed bird to their list will need to go into the forests of Central America and the remote reaches of the southwestern United States to find them.


There are six different species of Quetzal bird. Their common names are the Crested Quetzal, the Eared Quetzal, the Golden-headed Quetzal, the White-tipped Quetzal, the Resplendent Quetzal and the Pavonine Quetzal.


Most of these birds are found in the tropical highland forests of Central America. The Eared Quetzal can be found as far north as the southwestern U.S.


Quetzal birds are omnivores, and live on fruits (especially avocado), insects, small lizards and frogs.


These birds have a body that is between 14 and 16 inches long, with the males' especially long tails increasing their overall length to 24 to 30 inches.


A Quetzal female will typically lay only one or two eggs, and only one in five Quetzal hatchlings survive into adulthood. Most fall prey to predators such as jays, squirrels, toucans and weasels.


These birds were considered sacred to the Aztecs and the Maya, and the bird is the national symbol of Guatemala. Even the Guatemalan currency is named after them.

Article Written By Edwin Thomas

Edwin Thomas has been writing since 1997. His work has appeared in various online publications, including The Black Table, Proboxing-Fans and others. A travel blogger, editor and writer, Thomas has traveled from Argentina to Vietnam in pursuit of stories. He holds a Master of Arts in international affairs from American University.

Don't Miss a Thing!

All our latest outdoor content delivered to your inbox once a week.



We promise to keep your email address safe and secure.