Cancel Search
  • Search by
  • Facts About Countries in Southeast Asia

    Facts About Countries in Southeast Asia
    Southeast Asia comprises many rich, centuries-old cultures. Even though some of its countries have been influenced by British, French, Japanese and U.S. colonialism, each nation has held fast to its traditions and retained its unique identity.


    Southeast Asia consists of the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


    As of 2009, Indonesia had the largest population, with more than 240 million residents. The Philippines was a distant second, with a population of close to 98 million. Singapore had the fewest residents, approximately 14.5 million.


    The farming of rice is prevalent throughout the region, and houses built on stilts can be found across Southeast Asia. Folk dances and traditional music provide entertainment for many people in the region.


    Islam is the predominant religion in Southeast Asia, with approximately 240 million followers. Other commonly practiced religions include Christianity, Taoism, indigenous religions and various sects of Buddhism.


    Cooks strive for a balance of sweet, salty, sour and bitter flavors. China and India have greatly influenced the cuisine of Southeast Asia, with various noodle dishes and curries.


    From camping and trekking within Cambodia's Angkor temples to exploring the Pindaya Caves of Myanmar, numerous Southeast Asian tours are available at relatively moderate prices.

    Article Written By Angela Brown

    Angela Brown has been a book editor since 1997. She has written for various websites, as well as National Public Radio, Pacifica Radio and more than 20 fiction anthologies. Brown earned a Bachelor of Arts in theater and English from the University of Wisconsin.

    The Latest from the Community