Information on the Cormorant Bird

Information on the Cormorant Bird
There are six species of cormorants living on the North American continent. This dark-bodied water bird is found along ocean shores and inland, where there are rivers and lakes, with the greatest populations being in the Great Lakes.


The six types of cormorants found in North America are the double-crested cormorant, the neotropic cormorant, the Brandt's cormorant, the red-faced cormorant, the great cormorant and the pelagic cormorant.


The double-crested cormorant is by far the most prolific of these water birds. They have been found south from Alaska, across Canada, throughout the U.S., and into Mexico and the Caribbean.


The typical cormorant has a long neck and elongated body with a hooked bill; the double-crested cormorant has a wingspan of up to 4 feet.


Unlike other waterfowl, such as ducks and geese, the cormorant lacks oily feathers that make the bird waterproof; so cormorants are often seen with their wings outstretched as they dry them.


Fish make up the bulk of a cormorant's diet. The birds will dive under the water and pursue fish, capturing them with their hooked bills.

Expert Insight

The nest of the cormorant can be in a tree, on a cliff or on the ground. It is constructed of sticks as well as any other available materials the cormorant has access to, such as plastic, rope and even parts of dead birds.

Don't Miss a Thing!

All our latest outdoor content delivered to your inbox once a week.



We promise to keep your email address safe and secure.