About the Royal Caribbean

About the Royal Caribbean
Every year, Royal Caribbean Cruise Line provides accommodations, meals and entertainment to thousands of people who prefer to travel the world via ocean liner. The cruise line, one of the world's largest, has become known for the active and innovative family-friendly features of its large vessels, as well as its global itineraries.


Royal Caribbean has 23 ships sailing the oceans and rivers of the world, and offers 280 ports of call in 81 countries, including the Caribbean, Canada, Mexico, Europe and Asia.


Royal Caribbean has equipped its ships with unusual features designed to draw an active, adventurous crowd. These features include 200-foot-tall rock-climbing walls and flow-riders on deck, and ship-board ice-skating rinks and bowling alleys.


Generally, a cruise vacation is a good value for families. Royal Caribbean offers some discounts for third and fourth passengers in a stateroom with two paying adults, and has age-appropriate children's programs that keep youngsters busy.

New Ships

Royal Caribbean's newest ship is the Oasis of the Seas, which, at 220,000 gross tons, is the world's largest cruise vessel (as of 2009).

Travel Requirements

Like most cruise lines, Royal Caribbean requires all guests to have a current United States passport.

Article Written By Debbie Selinsky

Debbie Selinsky is an award-winning writer based in North Carolina. Selinsky is the former senior editor of "Success Magazine" and deputy director of the Duke University News Service. She has written about travel for many years and specializes in cruise travel, having sailed on more than 100 cruises. Selinsky attended North Greenville University, Oregon Institute of Technology and the Poynter Institute for Journalistic Excellence.

Don't Miss a Thing!

All our latest outdoor content delivered to your inbox once a week.



We promise to keep your email address safe and secure.