What Are the 8 Main Islands of Hawaii?

What Are the 8 Main Islands of Hawaii?
Hawaii was admitted as part of the United States in 1959. Hawaii is comprised of hundreds of islands spread over 1,500 miles but has eight main islands--Ni'ihau, Kaua'i, O'ahu, Moloka'i, Lāna'i, Kaho'olawe, Maui and Hawai'i.


Maui offers scuba diving, tennis at the Kapalua Tennis Garden, and surf lessons at the Nancy Emerson School of Surfing.


Kaua'i offers kayaking in the Wailua River and hiking of the Waimea Canyon.


O'ahu is a great island for surfing, sunbathing and dancing.


Moloka'i offers hiking through the Halawa Valley as well as mule-riding through the Kalaupapa National Historical Park.


Activities in Lāna'i include golfing, mountain biking, horseback riding and target shooting.


Known as "The Big Island" Hawai'i is the biggest of all the major islands in Hawaii. See the flowing molten lava of the Kilauea volcano, play in the snow at Mauna Kea, or relax at the Kona Village Spa.

Article Written By Tim Searles

Tim Searles is a writer and web developer. He has worked in web development since 1999, and his writing career began with poetry. He has been published with eHow, Trails Travels, and Associated Content. He has a Bachelor of Science in computer science from Northwestern University and a Master of Arts in business from Columbia College Chicago.

Don't Miss a Thing!

All our latest outdoor content delivered to your inbox once a week.



We promise to keep your email address safe and secure.