"Near the end of this old road you will discover some of the remains of an abandoned settlement that once contained as many as 135 people. It had its own school, two lumber mills, a grist mill, and numerous farms and orchards. All that remains of the settlement are graveyards, apple orchards, foundation depressions, stone walls, and one building. The Rosengreen House, built between 1860 and 1870, is the only remaining structure.
Otherwise, white spruce has grown into the former fields, and a few hunting camps are the only signs of human activity. The only cleared land is near the Rosengreen, and this is rapidly growing over with each passing year. A number of factors caused people to leave the area. The settlement survived on lumbering, but they were so successful that they depleted most of the resource in their area. The winter of 1895 was so severe that lumbering operations were cancelled due to deep snow, and the Great Fire of 1900 destroyed thousands of acres of woodland."